Alt banner image

Shortlists announced for 2013 NSW Premier’s History Awards

The Premier of NSW, the Honourable Barry O’Farrell today [14 August 2013] announced the shortlist for the 2013 NSW Premier’s History Awards. Eight judges considered 161 entries across the five prize categories.

The Premier commented: “The NSW Premier’s History Awards celebrate excellence in historical research, writing and presentation. With prizes for Multimedia History and Young People’s History, we recognise that history can be told in a variety of formats and is important for all ages.”

Minister George Souris MP, Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Hospitality and Racing, Minister for the Arts welcomed the announcement of the shortlist: “This year saw an impressive 161 eligible nominations received across the five categories, each with a $15,000prize. The quality of entrants for the awards this year was also impressive, and I offer my congratulations to all of the finalists announced today.”

2013 NSW Premier’s History Awards shortlist

Australian History Prize:

General History Prize:

NSW Community & Regional History Prize:

Multimedia History Prize:

Young People’s History Prize:

Senior judge and President of the NSW History Council, Professor Richard Waterhouse, said the judges were impressed by the high standard of entries this year.

“The diversity, the range and depth of the historical research within each category demonstrates how vibrant and vital our past is within our cultural present,” said Professor Waterhouse. “It’s clear that historians in this country are making major contributions to writing, documenting and revising the histories of events, cultures and peoples in Australia, Europe, the Americas and Asia.”

Winner announcement:
The winners of the 2013 Awards will be announced at a presentation and cocktail reception held in the historic Mitchell Library Reading Room at the State Library of NSW on 12 September 2013.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the event. Tickets: $85 each. Bookings are essential:


Join our mailing list